Art and Photography Book Publishers Accepting Submissions
Every art and photography publishing house below was checked on its own website in October 2026: who is open, who needs an agent, what to send and how long replies take.
Published Updated Reviewed every month · next review November 2026
Top art and photography publishers accepting submissions
These presses are open and take proposals straight from authors, so you can pitch without an agent. Each pick notes what to send and where.
1Independent publisherThames & Hudson
LondonChildren's, Art and Photography, History
A London house that takes unagented nonfiction proposals in its subject areas. Email an overview, chapter outline and up to 6 sample images to submissions@thameshudson.co.uk, and note that it does not publish fiction or poetry.
Reply: About 12 weeks
2Major publisherLaurence King
LondonChildren's, Art and Photography, Nonfiction
A strong fit for illustrated nonfiction, gift and children's books. Email a summary, overview, market notes, competing titles, bio and sample visuals to commissioning@laurenceking.com.
Reply: Not stated
- 3Small press
Merrell
LondonArt and Photography, Cookbook, History
Merrell publishes illustrated books on art, design, photography, architecture, fashion, gardens and interiors. Email a one-page synopsis, annotated contents and a sample chapter if written to Hugh Merrell. Send large files via WeTransfer.
Reply: Not stated
4Mid-sizePrinceton Architectural Press
New YorkChildren's, Art and Photography, Nonfiction
This press takes proposals and query letters from unagented authors, including children's picture books. Email a PDF proposal, or a complete low-res PDF for a picture book, to PAPressSubmissions@chroniclebooks.com. An editor replies only if interested.
Reply: Not stated
5Small pressLund Humphries
LondonArt and Photography, Academic, History
Lund Humphries focuses on books on the visual arts. Complete its Proposal Form and email it to the commissioning editor for your subject, and plan for possible outside funding if your book is highly illustrated.
Reply: Not stated
- 6Mid-size
Getty Publications
Los Angeles, CaliforniaChildren's, Academic, Art and Photography
Getty Publications accepts proposals by email directly from authors. Pick one of its four imprints and email that imprint's address, but do not send paper proposals or a full manuscript unless asked.
Reply: Not stated
7Mid-sizeTate Publishing
LondonChildren's, Art and Photography, Nonfiction
Tate Publishing publishes books on the visual arts and books for children. Email submissions@tate.org.uk or post a 2 to 3 page proposal with sample material, and treat no reply within 3 months as a no.
Reply: About 12 weeks
8Major publisherPrestel
MunichChildren's, Art and Photography, Fiction
Prestel takes unagented proposals in art, architecture, photography and design, plus children's books. Email submissions@prestel-uk.co.uk at its London office and do not follow up on status.
Reply: Not stated
All Art and Photography publishers
Filter by what you write and how you want to submit. Open publishers come first; every card shows when we last checked it.
No publishers match all of these. Try removing a filter.
Small pressArsenal Pulp PressChildren's, Art and Photography, ComicsVancouverOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Arsenal Pulp Press reads unsolicited submissions by post only. Send a synopsis, a chapter outline for nonfiction, your credentials, a 50-page excerpt and a marketing analysis; it requests the full manuscript if interested. Replies take up to six months, and simultaneous submissions are fine. It does not take poetry or genre fiction.No agent neededSend: Synopsis, credentials, 50 pages and marketing notes by postPost+1 more24 wks replyView profile →
Mid-sizeChronicle BooksChildren's, Art and Photography, CookbookSan Francisco, CaliforniaOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Chronicle Books is open to adult nonfiction proposals, including cookbooks, by email; its children's submissions are closed. Send one file under 5MB with a one-page cover letter, sample content, a readership analysis with comparable titles and a bio. Allow six months; it replies only if interested.No agent neededSend: One file: cover letter, samples, readership and bioEmail+1 more24 wks replyView profile →
Mid-sizeFrances LincolnChildren's, Art and Photography, Diverse and BIPOC voicesLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Frances Lincoln, part of The Quarto Group, takes illustrated nonfiction and children's book proposals from authors by email. Proposals go to Quarto's subject addresses with a signed Submission Agreement. Silence after three months means no.No agent neededSend: Full proposal by email with a signed Quarto agreementEmail13 wks replyest. 1977View profile →
Independent publisherFremantle PressChildren's, Art and Photography, Diverse and BIPOC voicesFremantleOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Fremantle Press is open now for children's and YA books, nonfiction and portfolios, with fiction opening 1 November to 12 December 2026. It takes work from Western Australian authors or on strong WA subjects. You submit through Submittable, and there is no fee.No agent neededSend: Manuscript + 200-word synopsis, bio and readership via SubmittableSubmittable10 wks replyView profile →Mid-sizeGetty PublicationsChildren's, Academic, Art and PhotographyLos Angeles, CaliforniaOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Getty Publications accepts book proposals by email directly from authors. Choose one of its four imprints and email your proposal to that imprint's address. It does not accept paper proposals or complete manuscripts unless it requests one.No agent neededSend: Proposal + sample chapter by email to one imprintEmailReply time not statedest. 1954View profile →
Independent publisherHeydayNonfiction, Art and Photography, Diverse and BIPOC voicesBerkeley, CaliforniaOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Heyday is open to unagented nonfiction about California and the American West. You email a query or proposal to editor@heydaybooks.com with "Heyday" in the subject line, or send it by post. There is no submission fee, though art and photography books usually need outside funding.No agent neededSend: Query or proposal with one sample chapter, by email or postEmail, Post12 wks replyView profile →Independent publisherIntellectAcademic, Art and Photography, ComicsBristolOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Intellect Books, an independent academic publisher in Bristol, reads proposals on its Author Questionnaire, with an Editor Questionnaire for edited collections. It is best known for the visual and performing arts and media studies. Gold open access is an option with a fee; its HammerOn Press imprint reads radical nonfiction by email.No agent neededSend: Completed Author or Editor QuestionnaireReply time not statedest. 1984View profile →
Major publisherIvy PressNonfiction, Art and PhotographyLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Ivy Press, a Quarto Group imprint in London, is open to illustrated nonfiction proposals from unagented authors. There is no Ivy address: you email a proposal and a signed Quarto Submission Agreement to the Quarto subject address that fits your book. No reply within three months means no.No agent neededSend: Proposal + signed Quarto Submission Agreement by emailEmail12 wks replyView profile →
Major publisherLaurence KingChildren's, Art and Photography, NonfictionLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Laurence King is open to unagented proposals for illustrated nonfiction, gift and children's books. Email a proposal with a summary, overview, market, competing titles, bio and sample visuals to commissioning@laurenceking.com. It does not publish fiction.No agent neededSend: Proposal + sample visuals by emailEmailReply time not statedest. 1991View profile →
Small pressLund HumphriesArt and Photography, Academic, HistoryLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Lund Humphries is open to unagented proposals for books on the visual arts. Download and complete its Proposal Form, then email it to the commissioning editor for your subject area. There is no submission fee, but highly illustrated books may need a grant or other outside funding.No agent neededSend: Completed Lund Humphries Proposal Form (PDF) by emailEmailReply time not statedest. 1939View profile →
University pressMercer University PressAcademic, Art and Photography, FictionMacon, GeorgiaOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Mercer University Press is open to unagented authors with no fees. You send a proposal with at least 2 sample chapters, or the entire manuscript, to Director Marc Jolley by email or post. Expect a few weeks for a proposal and up to six months for a full manuscript.No agent neededSend: Proposal + 2 sample chapters by email or postEmail, Post24 wks replyest. 1979View profile →Small pressMerrellArt and Photography, Cookbook, HistoryLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Merrell is open to unagented proposals for illustrated books on art, design, photography, architecture, fashion, gardens and interiors. Email a proposal with a one-page synopsis, annotated contents and a sample chapter if written to Hugh Merrell, Publisher. Send large files via WeTransfer.No agent neededSend: Proposal + sample chapter and images by emailEmailReply time not statedView profile →
Independent publisherMountaineers BooksNonfiction, Art and Photography, CookbookSeattle, WashingtonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Mountaineers Books is open to proposals from unagented writers for outdoor recreation, adventure travel and conservation nonfiction. Send a full proposal by email or mail, or email a query letter first if you are unsure about fit. It replies within about three months, and there is no fee to submit.No agent neededSend: Full proposal + 4 sample chapters by email or mailEmail, Post13 wks replyest. 1960View profile →
University pressMUPNonfiction, Academic, Art and PhotographyCarlton (Melbourne), MelbourneOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026MUP is open to unagented nonfiction proposals through Submittable. You send a proposal with a detailed chapter breakdown and a sample chapter, and MUP aims to reply in about 12 weeks. Its pages mention no fee.No agent neededSend: Proposal + chapter breakdown + sample chapter via SubmittableSubmittable+1 more12 wks replyest. 1922View profile →
University pressPenn State University PressAcademic, Art and Photography, ComicsUniversity Park, PennsylvaniaOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Penn State University Press is open to proposals from authors without an agent. Send a brief query email to the acquiring editor for your field first, then a proposal that follows its guidelines. It does not take unrevised dissertations.No agent neededSend: Query email to the editor first, then a proposalEmail, PostReply time not statedView profile →
Major publisherPrestelChildren's, Art and Photography, FictionMunichOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Prestel is open to unagented book proposals in art, architecture, photography and design, plus children's books. Email your proposal to submissions@prestel-uk.co.uk at the London office, and do not follow up on its status.No agent neededSend: Book proposal by email to the London officeEmailReply time not statedest. 1924View profile →
Mid-sizePrinceton Architectural PressChildren's, Art and Photography, NonfictionNew YorkOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Princeton Architectural Press is open to unagented proposals and query letters. Email a PDF proposal, or a complete low-res PDF for children's picture books, to PAPressSubmissions@chroniclebooks.com. An editor replies only if interested.No agent neededSend: PDF proposal, or full picture book as low-res PDF, by emailEmailReply time not statedest. 1981View profile →
Major publisherRockport PublishersArt and Photography, NonfictionBeverly, MassachusettsOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Rockport Publishers takes proposals from authors through The Quarto Group's submission guidelines. Email a proposal with an author introduction, project overview, visual materials and market information, plus a signed Submission Agreement. Quarto contacts you only if interested; no reply within three months means no.No agent neededSend: Proposal + visuals + signed Submission AgreementEmail12 wks replyest. 1984View profile →
Independent publisherRyland Peters & SmallChildren's, Art and Photography, CookbookLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Ryland Peters & Small, an independent London publisher of illustrated nonfiction, reads proposals for books including cookbooks. Send a covering letter and synopsis, contents list, short bio and an optional sample, not a complete manuscript, to enquiries@rps.co.uk. No reply within four to six weeks means no.Send: Letter, synopsis, contents and bio; no full manuscriptsEmail4 to 6 wks replyest. 1995View profile →
Independent publisherSchiffer PublishingChildren's, Art and Photography, HistoryAtglen, PennsylvaniaOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Schiffer Publishing is open to proposals from authors without an agent. Email your proposal to proposals@schifferbooks.com or send it by post, with two sample chapters from the middle of the book. Schiffer replies within 12 weeks only if interested.No agent neededSend: Proposal + 2 middle sample chapters by email or postEmail, Post12 wks replyView profile →
Mid-sizeTate PublishingChildren's, Art and Photography, NonfictionLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Tate Publishing in London is open to proposals from unagented authors. You email submissions@tate.org.uk or post a 2 to 3 page proposal with sample material to Millbank, London SW1P 4RG. It publishes books on the visual arts and books for children, and no reply within 3 months means no.No agent neededSend: 2 to 3 page proposal + sample material by email or postEmail, Post12 wks replyest. 1911View profile →University pressTexas Western PressNonfiction, Academic, Art and PhotographyEl Paso, TexasOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Texas Western Press is open to submissions, and anyone may submit without an agent. It publishes regional books on the borderlands and the Southwest. Email a completed submission inquiry form, your CV and book summaries to press@utep.edu.No agent neededSend: Inquiry form, CV + manuscript and chapter summaries by emailEmailReply time not statedest. 1952View profile →
Mid-sizeThames & Hudson AustraliaChildren's, Art and Photography, HistoryCremorne, MelbourneOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Thames & Hudson Australia is open to proposals from unagented authors in its existing subject areas, such as art, design, photography and history. Email a proposal to submissions@thameshudson.com.au, keeping total files under 5MB. It does not publish fiction or poetry.No agent neededSend: Proposal + text and image sample by email (5MB max)EmailReply time not statedest. 1970View profile →University pressThe MIT PressAcademic, Art and Photography, BusinessCambridge, MassachusettsOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026The MIT Press is open to book proposals from authors without an agent. Send a short inquiry to the appropriate acquisitions editor by email or post first. Send a full proposal only after checking with that editor.No agent neededSend: Short inquiry to an editor, then prospectus + TOCEmail, PostReply time not statedest. 1962View profile →Independent publisherTitan BooksFiction, Art and Photography, ComicsLondonOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Titan Books, in London, is open to nonfiction proposals for film, TV, art and comics reference books. For fiction and comics it reads only a brief synopsis with a covering letter, not a manuscript, and it is not looking for general fiction right now. Most of its fiction comes through agents.Some imprints unagentedSend: Nonfiction proposal; fiction: synopsis and letter onlyReply time not statedest. 1982View profile →
University pressUniversity of Minnesota PressChildren's, Academic, Art and PhotographyMinneapolis, MinnesotaOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026The University of Minnesota Press reads book proposals from authors without an agent. Send a prospectus with an overview, chapter summaries, at least two sample chapters and a current CV. Replies take four to six weeks, and simultaneous submissions are considered in some cases.No agent neededSend: Prospectus, chapter summaries, two chapters and CVPost+1 more4 to 6 wks replyest. 1925View profile →
University pressUniversity of Texas PressNonfiction, Academic, Art and PhotographyAustin, TexasOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026University of Texas Press is open all year to nonfiction proposals by email, including from unagented authors. You email a full proposal to the right editor, ideally with its Submission Inquiry Form, and review may take 4 to 6 weeks. It does not publish unsolicited fiction or poetry.No agent neededSend: Proposal, 2 sample chapters and CV by email + inquiry formEmail, Online form+1 more4 to 6 wks replyest. 1950View profile →
Independent publisherDeep VellumChildren's, Art and Photography, FictionDallas, TexasClosed nowChecked Oct 2026Deep Vellum is best treated as closed to submissions right now. Its website still describes a submission form for book and translation projects, but its Submittable page says there are no open calls, so check both pages before you send anything.Send: Online form with a manuscript link, once a call is openOnline formNo reopening date givenReply time not statedest. 2013View profile →
Small pressScotland Street PressChildren's, Art and Photography, Diverse and BIPOC voicesEdinburgh, ScotlandClosed nowChecked Oct 2026Scotland Street Press, an independent publisher in Edinburgh, is closed to submissions right now and does not read unsolicited work sent while it is closed. When it reopens, you send a link to your full manuscript through its online submission form.Send: Closed now; when open, manuscript link via online formOnline formNo reopening date givenReply time not statedest. 2014View profile →What do Open, Closed and Agent needed mean?
- Open now: the publisher's own site says it is reading submissions today, in at least one genre listed.
- Closed: not reading new submissions right now. We show the reopening date when the publisher gives one.
- Agent needed: it only reads manuscripts sent by a literary agent.
Submit with confidence
Four checks before you send anything to a publisher, whichever list you use.
Check it on their own site
Guidelines change. Read the publisher's own submissions page on the day you send.
How to find a publisherNever pay to be published
A traditional publisher pays you. If a company asks for money, it is a paid service.
Spot a paid pressSend exactly what they ask
Query, proposal or sample chapters: follow the format and word count to the letter.
Format your manuscriptTrack every submission
Note the date, the reply time and whether no reply means no before you follow up.
Free submission trackerThis directory lists art book publishers and photo book publishers we have verified, with 31 presses on the page right now. You can see which ones take proposals directly from authors and what each one asks you to send. Most publishers here produce illustrated nonfiction on art, design and photography. Several also publish children's books. Each listing is checked against the publisher's own site, but guidelines change, so confirm the details before sending. Use the filters to narrow by location, then open a profile to read how that press wants to receive your proposal.
How to choose an art or photography publisher
Start with subject fit. Publishers of art books tend to focus on clear areas, and a strong match matters more than a big name. Lund Humphries centers on the visual arts. Heyday wants nonfiction about California and the American West. Princeton Architectural Press takes children’s picture books as well as adult proposals. Academic presses such as The MIT Press, Intellect and the University of Minnesota Press suit research-led projects. Look at recent books from each press and ask whether yours would sit well beside them.
Open presses and who takes unagented authors
Every publisher on this page currently shows as open. Many of them, including Thames & Hudson, Laurence King, Merrell, Ivy Press and Getty Publications, say they accept proposals from unagented authors. For others, such as Titan Books, Chronicle Books and Frances Lincoln, open the profile to see whether you need an agent before you send anything. Some presses state hard limits too. Thames & Hudson does not publish fiction or poetry, and Laurence King does not publish fiction. We check listings against each publisher’s own site, but you should still confirm guidelines before sending, since policies can change.
What to send with your proposal
Most art publishers ask for a proposal rather than a finished manuscript. Expect to write an overview, a chapter outline or annotated contents and a short author bio. Laurence King also wants notes on the market and competing titles. Visual books need visuals, so include a small set of sample images. Thames & Hudson asks for up to 6. Keep files light and send large ones through a transfer service if the press allows it, as Merrell does with WeTransfer. Think about funding early. Lund Humphries and Heyday both note that highly illustrated books may need a grant or other outside funding. Finally, track response windows. Tate Publishing and Ivy Press treat no reply within three months as a no, and Princeton Architectural Press replies only if interested.
Finding photo book publishers and coffee table book publishers
If you are searching for photography book publishers or photo book publishing companies, read the profiles for presses that name photography in their submission notes. Merrell and Prestel both do. Coffee table book publishers usually focus on large illustrated titles, so look for presses that describe their list as illustrated, such as Laurence King and Ivy Press. Art book publishers in the UK are well represented here, with many based in London. US options include Chronicle Books, Getty Publications and Rockport Publishers. Compare a few profiles, shortlist the ones that fit and shape each proposal to that press’s guidelines.
AuthorWings · Self-publishing
Rather not wait? We'll publish it with you.
Self-publish your art and photography book with one project manager and matched specialists. 100% of your royalties and rights stay yours.
- 1
Tell us about your book
Genre, length, goals and timing.
- 2
Get a written quote
Scope and price agreed before any work starts.
- 3
Publish in your name
Your accounts, your ISBN, your royalties.
Questions authors ask
Answers use the live data on this page.
Do art book publishers accept proposals without an agent?
Yes, many do. Thames & Hudson, Laurence King, Lund Humphries, Merrell, Tate Publishing and Getty Publications all say they accept proposals from unagented authors. Each has its own process, from a proposal form to a specific email address for your subject. Read the profile for the press you want, then confirm the current guidelines on its own site before you send anything.
What should a photography book proposal include?
Most presses want a proposal, not a finished book. Plan on an overview, a chapter outline or annotated contents, a short bio and a small set of sample images. Thames & Hudson asks for up to 6 images, and Laurence King also asks for market notes and competing titles. Keep file sizes small and follow each publisher's format rules exactly.
Do I have to pay to publish an illustrated art book?
Not as a submission fee at the presses that state their policy. Lund Humphries and Heyday both say there is no submission fee. Both also note that highly illustrated books, or art and photography books, may need a grant or other outside funding. Ask about costs early, read any contract closely and confirm terms with the publisher before you agree to anything.
How long do art publishers take to reply?
It varies, and some presses reply only if they are interested. Tate Publishing and Ivy Press say no reply within three months means no. Princeton Architectural Press replies only if interested, and Prestel asks you not to follow up on status. Keep a simple log of where and when you sent each proposal, and keep pitching other presses while you wait.
Browse more:Audiobook book publishersGeorgia book publishersTennessee book publishersIndiana book publishersWashington book publishersOhio book publishersMassachusetts book publishersColorado book publishersPennsylvania book publishersOregon book publishersSelf-publishing services
How we verify listings. We list traditional publishers only: no hybrid, vanity or paid self-publishing companies. Every listing is checked on the publisher's own website and rechecked every month. This page was last updated 26 Oct 2026; next review November 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.