UK Poetry Book Publishers Accepting Submissions
Every UK poetry publishing house below was checked on its own website in October 2026: who is open, who needs an agent, what to send and how long replies take.
Published Updated Reviewed every month · next review November 2026
Poetry publishers accepting submissions in the UK
Presses with a route in for poets now or soon.
- 1
Faber
Poetry only, with no agent needed: six poems; no reply in eight weeks means no.
Reply: About 8 weeks
- 2
Nine Arches Press
Full collections through Submittable in its windows, with no fee.
Reply: About 12 weeks
- 3
Jonathan Cape
Poetry list can be approached directly by post.
Reply: 4 to 16 weeks
- 4
Seren Books
Poetry from UK writers during free call-outs.
Reply: Not stated
- 5
Shearsman
Closed until summer 2027; expects a magazine track record.
Reply: Not stated
- 6
Bloodaxe Books
Closed until its backlog clears; expects a magazine track record.
Reply: Not stated
All UK Poetry publishers
Filter by what you write and how you want to submit. Open publishers come first; every card shows when we last checked it.
No publishers match all of these. Try removing a filter.
Traditional publisherFaberChildren's, Fiction, Literary fictionLondon, UKOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Faber & Faber now accepts unsolicited submissions of poetry only, and poets do not need an agent. Send six examples of your work; no reply within eight weeks means no. It does not take unsolicited fiction, nonfiction, plays, screenplays or children's books.Some imprints unagentedSend: Poetry only: six poems8 wks replyest. 1929View profile →
Mid-sizeFrances LincolnChildren's, Art and Photography, Diverse and BIPOC voicesLondon, UKOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Frances Lincoln, part of The Quarto Group, takes illustrated nonfiction and children's book proposals from authors by email. Proposals go to Quarto's subject addresses with a signed Submission Agreement. Silence after three months means no.No agent neededSend: Full proposal by email with a signed Quarto agreementEmail13 wks replyest. 1977View profile →
Small pressLantana PublishingChildren's, Comics, Diverse and BIPOC voicesUKOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Lantana Publishing is open to children's book submissions from authors and illustrators from under-represented groups, through its online form. Send one file with the manuscript, a synopsis and a short bio. It replies within 12 weeks for picture books and 24 for chapter books; no reply in that time means no.Send: One file: manuscript, synopsis and short bioOnline form24 wks replyest. 2014View profile →
Small pressNine Arches PressPoetry, Diverse and BIPOC voices, IndependentWest Midlands, UKOpen to submissionsChecked Oct 2026Nine Arches Press is open to full poetry collections until midnight GMT on 31 October 2026, through Submittable only. Send a sample of twenty poems in one document and a short bio. There is no fee. Replies come at least 12 weeks after the window closes, and simultaneous submissions are not allowed.No agent neededSend: Twenty poems in one document + short bioSubmittable12 wks replyest. 2008View profile →Big 5 publishing houseJonathan CapeFiction, Comics, Literary fictionUKAgent submissions onlyChecked Oct 2026Jonathan Cape, part of Vintage at Penguin Random House UK, reads prose only through literary agents. Its poetry list can be approached directly by post with a typed English-language collection.Some imprints unagentedSend: Prose through an agent; poetry collections by postThrough an agent, Post4 to 16 wks replyView profile →
Independent publishing companySaltFiction, Fantasy and Sci-Fi, HorrorCromer, UKAgent submissions onlyChecked Oct 2026Salt Publishing does not accept unsolicited submissions from authors. Literary agents can email submissions, and silence after one month means no. Literary fiction is at the heart of its list.Send: Through a literary agent, by emailThrough an agent, Email4 wks replyest. 1999View profile →
Small pressBloodaxe BooksPoetryHexham, UKClosed nowChecked Oct 2026Bloodaxe Books is not taking unsolicited poetry submissions until it clears a backlog; its schedule is committed for the next two years. It expects poets to have a track record in reputable literary magazines or a small-press pamphlet first, and it never takes submissions by email.Send: Closed until its backlog clearsNo reopening date givenReply time not statedest. 1978View profile →
Independent publishing companyGranta BooksLiterary fiction, Fiction, MemoirLondon, UKClosed nowChecked Oct 2026Granta Books does not accept unsolicited book proposals or manuscripts. The London publisher of literary fiction, memoir, reportage and poetry works through agents. Its sister Granta magazine reads single stories and essays in set months, with a small fee and free low-income places.Send: No unsolicited proposals or manuscriptsNo reopening date givenReply time not statedView profile →
Independent publishing companySeren BooksPoetry, Fiction, IndependentUKClosed nowChecked Oct 2026Seren Books is closed to submissions right now and reads work only during occasional free call-out windows. It publishes poetry, fiction and nonfiction, including memoir, for adults, with a focus on English-language writing from Wales. Writers must be 18 or over and live in the UK.No agent neededSend: Only during announced call-out windowsNo reopening date givenReply time not statedest. 1981View profile →Small pressShearsmanPoetry, NonfictionUKClosed nowChecked Oct 2026Shearsman Books is not accepting any new manuscripts as of July 2026, with reopening expected in summer 2027. The UK poetry press charges authors nothing, pays royalties and expects poets to have published in magazines before submitting a collection.No agent neededSend: Closed until summer 2027Post, Email, Online formNo reopening date givenReply time not statedView profile → What do Open, Closed and Agent needed mean?
- Open now: the publisher's own site says it is reading submissions today, in at least one genre listed.
- Closed: not reading new submissions right now. We show the reopening date when the publisher gives one.
- Agent needed: it only reads manuscripts sent by a literary agent.
Submit with confidence
Four checks before you send anything to a publisher, whichever list you use.
Check it on their own site
Guidelines change. Read the publisher's own submissions page on the day you send.
Never pay to be published
A traditional publisher pays you. If a company asks for money, it is a paid service.
Send exactly what they ask
Query, proposal or sample chapters: follow the format and word count to the letter.
Track every submission
Note the date, the reply time and whether no reply means no before you follow up.
Poetry publishers in the UK read collections in very different ways: some take direct submissions, others open short windows and a few are closed until a backlog clears. We list 11 UK poetry publishers, and 5 of them are open to submissions today. Every listing was checked on the publisher's own site and shows windows, fees and what to send. Use the filters to find UK poetry publishers reading now. Each profile also shows the date we last checked the publisher's own page, so you can see how current the rules are.
Poetry publishers UK poets can approach now
A handful of UK poetry publishers read poems without an agent. Faber accepts unsolicited poetry only: send six poems. Nine Arches Press reads full collections through Submittable during its windows, with no fee, and Jonathan Cape accepts poetry directly by post. These are the clearest open doors for poets on this page.
Poetry publishers accepting submissions UK: windows and call-outs
Many presses read only at set times. Seren reads poetry during free call-outs for UK writers, and Shearsman expects to reopen in summer 2027. Bloodaxe is closed until it clears a two-year backlog. Watch these profiles, because we update them as windows open.
What makes the best poetry publishers UK poets aim for
The best poetry publishers UK poets target are the ones that publish work like theirs and read submissions from poets at their stage. Bloodaxe and Shearsman both expect poems in magazines before a collection, so a magazine track record matters. Read recent books from each press before you send anything.
Fees and paid presses
Every UK poetry publisher on this page is traditional. Nine Arches Press says it does not charge for submissions, and Shearsman says it does not accept payment from authors. We leave out presses whose only route is a reading fee.
How we check these listings
Every publisher on this page was checked on its own website, and we review each listing every month. We list only traditional publishers, which pay authors and do not charge them to publish. If a house adds fees, packages or a paid route, we say so on its profile or leave it out of the directory.
Building toward a UK collection
Most UK poetry presses want to see a body of published work before a collection. Send single poems to literary magazines, enter free competitions where you can and read the recent books of the presses you admire. When a window opens, you will be ready with a strong, finished manuscript.
Rather not wait? We'll publish it with you.
Self-publish your UK poetry book with one project manager and matched specialists. 100% of your royalties and rights stay yours.
Tell us about your book
Genre, length, goals and timing.
Get a written quote
Scope and price agreed before any work starts.
Publish in your name
Your accounts, your ISBN, your royalties.
Questions authors ask
Answers use the live data on this page.
Which UK poetry publishers accept unsolicited submissions?
On this page, Faber accepts unsolicited poetry only, with no agent needed, and Jonathan Cape's poetry list can be approached by post. Nine Arches Press reads collections in its windows, and Seren reads UK poets during call-outs. Bloodaxe and Shearsman are closed for now.
Do UK poetry publishers charge reading fees?
Not the ones on this page. Nine Arches Press says it does not charge for submissions, and Shearsman says it does not accept payment from authors. Some magazines and competitions charge entry fees, but we do not list presses whose only route to publication is a fee.
Do I need magazine publications before submitting a poetry collection?
Usually. Bloodaxe expects a track record in reputable literary magazines or a small-press pamphlet, and Shearsman says the chance of acceptance without prior magazine publication is almost nil. Nine Arches Press also asks about previous publications. Read their recent books first.
Browse more:UK book publishersAll book publishersSelf-publishing services
How we verify listings. We list traditional publishers only: no hybrid, vanity or paid self-publishing companies. Every listing is checked on the publisher's own website and rechecked every month. This page was last updated 25 Oct 2026; next review November 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.